3-A SSI Invites Applications for Student Travel Scholarship Awards

Publication date: 08.01.2014

Author: 3-A SSI

3-A Sanitary Standards, Inc. (3-A SSI) invites applications for the 2014 Student Travel Scholarship Award, which is intended to help motivated, career-oriented students to participate in the annual education program of 3-A SSI.  The program enables dedicated students with a record of achievement to gain comprehensive first-hand knowledge about hygienic design for food processing equipment and systems.  The 3-A SSI 2014 education program and related events will be held May 12-16 at the Clarion Hotel & Conference Center in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

Candidates for the 2014 awards must be enrolled full-time in a food technology, food science, dairy science or other closely related program (undergraduate or graduate level) at a college or university in the U.S. or Canada.   Candidates must demonstrate a career interest and commitment to food safety and quality.  Award recipients will be selected on the basis of a personal essay, official transcripts and a letter of recommendation from a faculty member or department head.  Travel scholarship details and an application form are available on the 3-A SSI web site at www.3-a.org under Upcoming Events.  The application deadline is March 7, 2014.

According to Dr. Ronald Schmidt (University of Florida), past-chair of 3-A SSI and long-time educator, “Food safety has become a highly important emphasis in food science and food microbiology curricula.  With the new Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) now in place, hygienic equipment design is recognized as a critical element of food safety and it deserves much more emphasis in our training.  The 3-A SSI program provides a truly special opportunity for future food industry professionals to supplement their educational experience, gain in-depth knowledge about hygienic equipment design in ‘the real world’ and network with world-class industry leaders.”

Past award recipients represented schools including California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo, Cornell University, Michigan State University, Pennsylvania State University, Texas Tech University, the University of Minnesota, the University of Vermont, and the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

For more details on the scholarship awards or the upcoming 2014 program, contact Tim Rugh at 3-A SSI.